2015 Americana Honors & Awards Winners

2015 Americana Honors & Awards Winners

The 14th annual Americana Honors and Awards were held at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium last night (Sept. 16) to celebrate the year’s best and brightest in roots music and its many related, eclectic offshoots.

Hosted as usual by Jim Lauderdale, the event featured music by the Buddy Miller-led house band and performances from Lee Ann Womack, Don Henley, Jason Isbell, John Hiatt and numerous others.

Here are the artists who went home with trophies.

  1. Album of the Year
  2. Artist of the Year
  3. Duo/Group of the Year
    • WINNER The Mavericks
    • Bela Fleck & Abigail Washburn
    • The Lone Bellow
    • Punch Brothers
    • Shovels & Rope
  4. Song of the Year
    • WINNER “Turtles All the Way Down,” Sturgill Simpson
      written by Sturgill Simpson
    • “Dearly Departed,” Shakey Graves
      written by Alejandro Rose-Garcia and Esme’ Patterson
    • “East Side of Town,” Lucinda Williams
      written by Lucinda Williams
    • “Terms of My Surrender,” John Hiatt
      written by John Hiatt
    • “You’re The Best Lover That I Ever Had,” Steve Earle & the Dukes
      written by Steve Earle
  5. Emerging Artist of the Year
  6. Instrumentalist of the Year
    • WINNER John Leventhal
    • Hubby Jenkins
    • Laur Joamets
    • Greg Leisz
    • Stuart Mathis
  7. Spirit of Americana/Free Speech in Music Award co-presented by the Americana Music Association and the First Amendment Center
    • WINNER Buffy Sainte-Marie
  8. Lifetime Achievement Award, Trailblazer
    • WINNER Don Henley
  9. The Lifetime Achievement Award, Songwriting
    • WINNER Gillian Welch & David Rawlings
  10. Lifetime Achievement Award, Instrumentalist
    • WINNER Ricky Skaggs
  11. Lifetime Achievement Award, Performance
    • WINNER Los Lobos
  12. President’s Award
    • WINNER B.B. King

Daily Dose