John Prine, Sturgill Simpson, Amanda Shires, Marty Stuart & More Win 2017 Americana Awards

John Prine, Sturgill Simpson, Amanda Shires, Marty Stuart & More Win 2017 Americana Awards

The 2017 Americana Honors & Awards were held tonight (Sept. 13) at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. The ceremony is the centerpiece of Nashville’s Americana Fest (Sept. 12–17), which features almost 300 artists performing at different venues throughout Nashville.

During tonight’s ceremony, Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Van Morrison (Songwriter), Iris Dement (Trailblazer), Robert Cray (Performance), Hi Rhythm Section (Instrumentalist), Graham Nash (Free Speech) and Larry Sloven and Bruce Bromberg (Executives).

Additional awards were presented in the following categories:

Album of the Year

American BandDrive-By Truckers (Produced by David Barbe)
A Sailor’s Guide to EarthSturgill Simpson (Produced by Sturgill Simpson) WINNER
Close Ties Rodney Crowell (Produced by Kim Buie and Jordan Lehning)
Freedom HighwayRhiannon Giddens (Produced David Bither, Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell)
The NavigatorHurray for the Riff Raff (Produced by Paul Butler)

Artist of the Year

Jason Isbell
John Prine WINNER
Lori McKenna
Margo Price
Sturgill Simpson

Duo/Group of the Year

Billy Bragg & Joe Henry
Drive-By Truckers
Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives WINNER
The Lumineers

Emerging Artist of the Year

Aaron Lee Tasjan
Amanda Shires WINNER
Brent Cobb
Sam Outlaw

Song of the Year

“All Around You” – Sturgill Simpson (Written by Sturgill Simpson)
“It Ain’t Over Yet” – Rodney Crowell (feat. Rosanne Cash & John Paul White) (Written by Rodney Crowell) WINNER
“To Be Without You” – Ryan Adams (Written by Ryan Adams)
“Wreck You” – Lori McKenna (Written by Lori McKenna and Felix McTeigue)

Instrumentalist of the Year

Spencer Cullum Jr.
Jen Gunderman
Courtney Hartman
Charlie Sexton WINNER

photo by Josh Britt / ShoreFire

Daily Dose

Cowboy Up

Cowboy Up

Congrats to Robert Earl Keen, who was inducted into the Texas Cowboy Hall of Fame. REK joins Willie Nelson, George Strait, Lyle Lovett & more in the Lone Star State institution.